The State Board of Higher Education (the “Board”) entrusts the system office, known as the Chancellor’s Office, to carry out the Board’s goals and initiatives for the benefit of Oregon and Oregonians, as well as implementing legislatively identified and required fiduciary, compliance and other duties, Board and Governor’s policies, and all directives related to higher education. Historically, the Chancellor’s Office has ensured that higher education is efficient and aligned; provided consolidated functions for the campuses in many areas to ease the financial strain on students and Oregon tax payers; and ensured that statewide higher education partnerships and initiatives are collectively advanced in ways which benefit Oregonians now and in the future. 

Beginning on July 1, 2014, the Oregon University System's (OUS) will transition from having seven campuses to being a system of four campuses. Oregon’s three largest public universities -- Oregon State University, Portland State University, and University of Oregon – instituted their own institutional governing boards, and will no longer be under the authority of the State Board of Higher Education. The Technical and Regional Universities (TRUs) -- Eastern Oregon University, Oregon Institute of Technology, Southern Oregon University, and Western Oregon University -- will continue to be governed by the State Board of Higher Education through June 30, 2015. After that, the TRUs will gain their own institutional boards, and the system will have completed it decentralization process.

Click here for additional information on the system transition.


  • Contact: Charles Burck, Executive Assistant to the Acting Chancellor; 503-725-5707

Senior staff whose functions are shared with the Board: