Oregon University System

Oregon University System Logo



Chancellor Announces Search Committee for University of Oregon President

Contact: Di Saunders, Office: 503-725-5714; Cell: 971-219-6869

PORTLAND, February 1, 2012 – George Pernsteiner, chancellor of the Oregon University System (OUS), today announced the Search Committee for the next president of the University of Oregon (UO). The new president will replace interim president Robert Berdahl, who began in this role in late December. 

The Search Committee will be chaired by State Board of Higher Education member Allyn Ford of Roseburg, and he will be assisted by Dr. Sona Karentz Andrews, vice chancellor of Academic Strategies for the OUS, and Tim Black, UO assistant vice president, Office of the President. 

Search Committee members will include the following representatives from UO’s many constituent groups, including: Miriam Abelson, UO graduate student in Women’s and Gender Studies; Maneesh Arora, UO undergraduate student in Environmental Studies; Miriam Bolton, UO executive assistant, Lundquist College of Business; Frances Bronet, UO dean, School of Architecture & Allied Arts; Eric Clark, UO libraries’ student coordinator and assistant to unit manager; Ben Eckstein, undergraduate student in Planning and Public Policy Management, and president of Associated Students of the UO; Allyn Ford, search chair, and president of Roseburg Forest Products; Dan Giustina, managing partner, Giustina Resources; Michael Hames-Garcia, UO professor of Ethnic Studies; Robin Holmes, UO vice president for Student Affairs;   Gregg Kantor, CEO, Northwest Natural Gas Company; Robert Kyr, Phillip H. Knight professor, UO School of Music and Dance; Anne Marie Levis, president, UO Alumni Association, and president & creative director, Funk/Levis & Associates; Gwen Lillis, chair, The Lillis Foundation; Ed Maletis, UO Foundation member; Alec Murphy, UO professor of Geography; Margie Paris, UO professor of Law; Preston Pulliams, president, Portland Community College; Geraldine Richmond, UO professor of Chemistry; Kim Sheehan, professor of Journalism; and Mary Spilde, president, Lane Community College. 

The Committee will begin its search process for a new president immediately, working with a national search firm which was selected through an open RFP process. Search chair Allyn Ford noted that the target for the selection of the new president of UO by the State Board of Higher Education is this summer. The chancellor and Allyn Ford are continuing to meet with members of the UO community, faculty, and students to identify the qualities, qualifications and characteristics needed in the next president. 

Allyn Ford said, “My thanks go out to this Committee, which is representative of the many strengths and perspectives of the UO community, as well as those of the state of Oregon. We appreciate the Committee’s willingness to work collectively on this critically important work. We are excited about beginning the search process, and are committed to moving through an accelerated schedule, but one that does not compromise quality, so that we can have the University’s next president appointed this summer and ready to lead the institution this coming fall. The University of Oregon’s next president will be both an institutional and a state leader in higher education, so the work of identifying candidates is one that has important ramifications for all of Oregon.” 

The Oregon University System comprises seven distinguished public universities and one branch campus, reaching more than one million people each year through on-campus classes, statewide public services and lifelong learning. The Oregon State Board of Higher Education, the statutory governing board of OUS, is composed of twelve members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon State Senate. For additional information, go to www.ous.edu.