Oregon University System

Oregon University System Logo



Third Finalist for OIT President Announced

Di Saunders, Cell: 971-219-6869; Office: 503-725-5714

Note to Editors: Downloadable photos of the candidates, complete bios and campus visit schedules are available at http://www.oit.edu/president

Portland, OR, June 2 – A third finalist candidate for the next president of the Oregon Institute of Technology was announced today by George Pernsteiner, chancellor of the Oregon University System.

Dr. Daniel J. Bradley, president of Fairmont State University (West Virginia) joins the other two finalist candidates announced last week, Dr. Christopher G. Maples, executive vice president for research at Desert Research Institute (Nevada), and Dr. Donald H. Sebastian, senior vice president for research and development at New Jersey Institute of Technology and president of the NJIT Research Corporation. See full details on all candidates at www.oit.edu/president.

Daniel Bradley has served as president of Fairmont State University in West Virginia since 2001, and is also a tenured professor of Chemistry and Engineering Technology there. During his tenure, he has developed the campus’ 10-year physical facilities master plan with $100 million in construction recently completed. He has forged strong ties to city and county governments, business, and K-12, and helped initiate FSU’s first ever capital campaign and bring it to a successful conclusion. Under his leadership the institution initiated its first graduate programs in Education, Business Administration, Criminal Justice, Human Services, and Nursing (cooperative); and established the Fairmont State Center for Teaching Excellence and Center for Learning Technologies. Since 2000, FSU’s enrollment has increased by 10% despite declining state high school graduation numbers; and the institution, as part of a far reaching master plan, has focused on student success and excellence in teaching and learning.

Prior to this position, Dr. Bradley held several positions at Montana Tech of the University of Montana (Butte) from 1979 to 2001. Most recently, he was vice chancellor for Academic Affairs and research where he was responsible for academic programming and budgeting, as well as support areas. From 1989 to 1998 he was dean of Engineering and continued as head of the Petroleum Engineering Department. From 1986 to 1989 he served as interim dean of Students and then director of international programs. Between 1979 and 2001 he also had teaching responsibilities in the areas of Petroleum Engineering, Chemistry and Geochemistry. Bradley completed fellowships at Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory and Oak Ridge National Laboratory from 1975 to 1979.

Dr. Bradley has served in numerous board and service positions, including since 2000 the Board of Directors of ABET, the recognized accreditor for college and university programs in applied science, computing, engineering, and technology. He also currently serves or recently completed service on the NCAA Division II Presidents Council, the Marion County Regional Development Corporation board and the Marion County Chamber of Commerce, and is a Task Force member for the Creation of a Voluntary System of Accountability with the American Association of State Colleges and Universities. In other experience, Bradley served as co-director of the Montana Tech Young Scholars Program from 1990-97; has been a petroleum consultant in China, and a visiting scientist with other universities and research institutes. He has been the author and contributor to many publications, a frequent presenter at national conferences, and recipient of several professional awards. Bradley received his B.S. in Biochemistry and a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry from Michigan State University (East Lansing), a B.S. in Petroleum Engineering from Montana College of Mineral Science and Technology, and an M.S. in Petroleum Engineering from the University of Tulsa (Oklahoma).

Oregon University System (OUS) comprises seven distinguished public universities, reaching more than one million people each year through on-campus classes, statewide public services and lifelong learning. The Oregon State Board of Higher Education, the statutory governing board of OUS, is composed of eleven members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon State Senate. For additional information, go to www.ous.edu

- OUS -
Eastern Oregon University | Oregon Institute of Technology | Oregon State University | Portland State University
Southern Oregon University | University of Oregon | Western Oregon University | Oregon Health & Science University - Affiliated