Oregon University System

Oregon University System Logo



Higher Ed Board Committee approves new academic programs at OSU and UO

Contact Di Saunders, Office: 503-725-5714; Cell: 971-219-6869

PORTLAND, November 23, 2010 – The State Board of Higher Education’s Academic Strategies Committee met today and on October 28 and approved three new academic programs at Oregon State University and the University of Oregon.

Today the Board Committee approved UO’s new program, a B.A./B.S. in General Social Science, effective Winter of 2011. For more information on this program see: /sites/default/files/state_board/meeting/dockets/ddoc101123-ASC1.pdf

On October 28, 2010, the Board Committee approved two programs: (1) for OSU, a B.S. in Energy Engineering Management; for more information go to: http://www.osucascades.edu/Node/227515; and (2) for UO, a Ph.D. in Architecture; for more information go to: http://aaa.uoregon.edu/news/uo%E2%80%99s-architecture-department-launches-doctoral-program-sustainable-design.html

Oregon University System (OUS) comprises seven distinguished public universities and one branch campus, reaching more than one million people each year through on-campus classes, statewide public services, and lifelong learning. The Oregon State Board of Higher Education, the statutory governing board of OUS, is composed of twelve members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Oregon State Senate. For additional information, go to www.ous.edu.

- OUS -
Eastern Oregon University | Oregon Institute of Technology | Oregon State University | Portland State University
Southern Oregon University | University of Oregon | Western Oregon University | Oregon Health & Science University - Affiliated