May 23, 2001

Contact: Bob Bruce, Oregon University System, 503-725-5714
Bill MacKenzie, Intel, 503-264-1330
Sources: Morgan Anderson, Intel education relations manager, 503-264-1868
Bob Dryden, vice chancellor, Oregon University System, 503-725-5700

$290,000 in Grants Awarded 2001 Intel Faculty Fellows

PORTLAND - Twenty of the top faculty research scientists from Oregon State University, Portland State University and the University of Oregon have been named as Intel Faculty Fellows for 2001.

Their selection, and accompanying grants totaling $290,000, will support seven new and distinct projects to advance high technology education at the respective universities. The funds, all provided by Intel, will be used to develop new curricula or enhance student laboratory facilities.

"Intel is committed to helping our Oregon universities strive for excellence in teaching and learning, " said Mike Salsgiver, public affairs manager at Intel Oregon. "The Intel Fellows Program demonstrates our support for improving engineering and computer science education in Oregon, and our willingness to invest in new ideas for Oregon's future.

Since 1999 Intel has contributed more than $750,000 in private support for engineering education in Oregon through the Intel Faculty Fellows Program.

The new projects were selected from a pool of 30 competitive proposals requesting more than $1.31 million dollars in Intel support. This year's awards total $290,000, a 45% increase over those funded for 2000.

The 2001 winners, awards and projects by campus include:

Oregon State University:

David Porter and Robin Wurl, assistant professors, Department of Industrial & Mechanical Engineering, $30,000 for curriculum and student lab development of "A Course & Student Lab in Wireless Networks.

Alex Chang, assistant professor, Milo Koretsky, professor, Shoichi Kimura, professor, and Carol Monica, professor, Department of Chemical Engineering, and Mani Subramanian, associate professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, $50,000 for curriculum and student lab "Development of Unit Operation Education Modules for Multiple Course Project in Microelectronics Processing."

Joseph Nibler, professor, Department of Chemistry, Thomas Plant, associate professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, and William Hetherington, associate professor, Department of Physics, $50,000 for "Development of Advanced Laser/Optical Laboratory Experiments."

Portland State University:

Xiaoyu Song, associate professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, $25,000 for curriculum development of "Low Power IC Design.

Joseph Albert, assistant professor, Bart Massey, assistant professor, and Cynthia Brown, professor, Department of Computer Science, and Fu Li, professor, and Douglas Hall, associate professor, Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, $75,000 for a student lab "Upgrade of Intel Lab & Creation of Linex Lab."

Suresh Singh, associate professor, Department of Computer Science, $25,000 for curriculum development and student lab on "Wireless Peer to Peer Computing: Curriculum Development Developing a New Senior-Level/Graduate Course."

University of Oregon:

David C. Johnson, professor, Material Sciences Institute, Dietrich Belitz, professor, Department of Physics, and Rick Dahlquist, associate professor, Department of Chemistry, $35,000 for curriculum development in the "Acquisition of Enabling Equipment for a Joint Materials Science, Physics & Chemistry Curriculum in Semiconductor Processing and Characterization."

     [ HOME ]    [ SEARCH ]    [ INDEX ]    [ CONTACTS ]    
© Oregon University System, 2000