June 23, 2000 

Contact: Bob Bruce, 503-725-5714
Source: Joe Cox, 541-346-5700

Search Committee Named for SOU Presidential Search

EUGENE - A 15-member committee has been named to conduct the national search for a new president at Southern Oregon University.

Chancellor Joe Cox of the Oregon University System announced the committee members today. Membership includes representatives of the State Board of Higher Education, SOU faculty, staff, student body, administration and alumni.

Bill Williams, president and C.E.O. of Bear Creek Corporation, Medford, and a member of the State Board, will chair the search. Other board members on the committee include Leslie Lehmann of Portland and Jim Willis of Salem.

Other members are Ivan Gorne, vice president for student affairs; Dr. Joe Graf, dean of science; Liz Shelby, director of the Small Business Development Center and director of government relations; Dr. Julie Heine, associate professor of business; Dr. Donna Mills, chair and associate professor of health education; Dr. Alexander Tutunov, associate professor of music; and Dr. John Whitesitt, professor of mathematics.

Also Bruce Moats, director of physical plant; Cheri Donahoo, accountant, representing the Oregon Public Employees Union on the campus; student representative Joe Walker, alumni representative Kavinda Arthenayake; and Jim Teese, regional advisory board representative. A representative from the SOU Foundation is expected to be named to the committee at a later date.

The search committee is expected to begin its work in September. 

SOU President Stephen Reno recently resigned from the permanent position to become chancellor of the University System of New Hampshire. Dr. Sara Hopkins-Powell was recently named to serve as interim president of the university.

     [ HOME ]    [ SEARCH ]    [ INDEX ]    [ CONTACTS ]    
© Oregon University System, 2000