August 22, 2001

Contact: Bob Bruce, 503-725-5714
Source: Lisa Howard, 503-378-8471

Roger Bassett Named to State Board

SALEM -Oregon's former community college commissioner has been nominated by Gov. John Kitzhaber to serve on the State Board of Higher Education.

Subject to confirmation by the Oregon Senate, Roger J. Bassett of Salem will begin a four-year term on the Board in September. He succeeds Herb Aschkenasy of Albany whose term expired in June.

Now retired, Bassett has had broad statewide experience in educational policy. He served as commissioner of Oregon's community colleges from 1993 to 1996 and has been an educational and workforce policy advisor to three Oregon governors. In addition, he also has served as administrator of the Oregon Job Training Partnership Act Administration; director of state's Office of Educational Policy and Planning; executive secretary of the Oregon Community College Association; and director of government relations for the Oregon University System.

Bassett also has held positions as a senior staff associate at the National Center for Higher Education Management Systems in Boulder, Colo.; and in Washington as a governor's budget analyst, director of finance and planning of the Washington State Board of Community College Education, and director of the Washington State Higher Education Facilities Commission.

He is a founding board member of the Western Governors University and has served as an Oregon commissioner to the Education Commission of the States and the Western Interstate Commission of Higher Education. He recently was the co-chair of Oregon's Legislative Study Commission on Postsecondary Education Tuition and Student Financial Aid.

Bassett holds bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Washington.

The State Board of Higher Education serves as the governing board of the Oregon University System. OUS campuses include Eastern Oregon University, La Grande; Oregon Institute of Technology, Klamath Falls; Oregon State University, Corvallis; Portland State University; Southern Oregon University, Ashland; the University of Oregon, Eugene; and Western Oregon University, Monmouth

     [ HOME ]    [ SEARCH ]    [ INDEX ]    [ CONTACTS ]    
© Oregon University System, 2000